2016 Birmingham

The iMig 2016 meeting was one of the best attended and successful meetings of the organization.  Held in Birmingham and co-organized by Dean A. Fennell (Univ of Leicester) and David Waller (Glenfield Hospital), the meeting attracted 542 registrants, which appears to make this meeting the largest in iMig history.  These attendees came from 30 different countries and 6 (out of the possible 7) continents.   There were 282 abstracts submitted, including several late breaking abstracts.  These had previously been scored by the scientific advisory committees and organized into a program featuring 6 plenary sessions, 16 mini-symposia, 2 poster sessions, industry-supported symposia, and networking breaks with poster viewing.

New to this conference was a Young Investigators Session, organized by Sara Busacca, to introduce junior members to more senior investigators and to highlight laboratory opportunities. There was also more numerous and extensive exhibits, with 28 booths and many sponsors.  Also, new to this meeting was the iMig Research Award, given to the investigator with the most significant recent contribution to mesothelioma research (see below and in Awards for description).

Social activities included a welcome reception at Exhibition Hall on Sunday May 1, an iMig President’s Dinner on Monday May 2 held at the Banqueting Suite of the Birmingham Council House (at which the attendees learned that the Leicester Foxes football team clinched their win of the Premier League) and a Gala Dinner on Tuesday May 3 held at the ICC Birmingham.   This final iMig night featured the presentation of the awards and dancing to the music of the Mini Big Band.

2016 Awardees

Left to right: Raphael Bueno, Courtney Broaddus and Bruce Robinson

Awards given:

  • iMig Research Award: Raphael Bueno
  • iMig Service Award: Bruce Robinson
  • Wagner Medal: Courtney Broaddus

At the Presidential Closing ceremony, additional awards were presented:

Best Investigator Award: Edmund Moon, USA

Young Investigator Awards (supported by Kazan Law):

  • Hannah Moody, United Kingdom MS11.05: MicroRNA-31 Regulates Chemosensitivity in Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma via Altered Intracellular Drug Localisation
  • Rossella Bruno, Italy MS08.04: Digital Gene Expression Profiling to Separate Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma from Benign Reactive Mesothelial Hyperplasia
  • Floris Dammeijer, Netherlands MS16.03: CSF1R-Blockade Synergizes with Dendritic Cell Immunotherapy in a Mesothelioma Preclinical Model
  • Kevin Lamote, Belgium MS05.02: Haptoglobin Phenotype Is a Risk Factor for Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma
  • Marissa Williams, Australia MS04.03: Tumour Suppressor microRNAs Regulate PD-L1 Expression in Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma

Developing Nation Travel Grants (supported by Slater & Gordon) :

  • Ahmed El Bastawisy, Egypt PP01.61: Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma in Young People
  • Hala Aziz Shokralla, Egypt PP01.29: Does Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma with Metastases at First Presentation Really Benefit from Chemotherapy?

Best Poster Awards:

  • Annabel J. Sharkey, Abstract ID: 374 – Mutational Burden and CDKN2A Status as a Robust Outcome Predictor for Radical Surgery in Mesothelioma
  • Zobra Butt, Abstract ID: 481 – Isogenic Cell Lines for Targeted Therapy Discovery in BAP1-Deficient Mesothelioma